SANTA CLARA COUNTY DEMOCRATIC CENTRAL COMMITTEE

5:30 PM, County Building Cafeteria, 70 W. Hedding St., San Jose Meeting will start at 5:30 pm sharp.

MINUTES FOR Thursday, August 30, 2012

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called at 5:45pm

2. ROLL CALL

Absent: Joseph Tran, Marsha Grilli, David Parker, Hope Cahan, Dan Kenney(exc), Denise Alejandro, Tony Alexander, Bill Monning, Elaine Alquist, Emy Thurber (exc), Herlinda Aguirre.

Alternates for: Bob Wieckowski, Rich Gordon, Nora Campos, Jim Beall, Luis Alejo, Ellen Corbett, Joe Simitian, Mike Honda, Jerry McNerney, Zoe Lofgren, Anna Eshoo, Rena Modell.

3. IDENTIFICATION OF VISITORS

4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Moved; seconded; Approved

- 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Minutes are/will be posted at sccdp.org)
 - a. August 2, 2012 Minutes
- 6. NEW BUSINESS
 - a. November Endorsements
- City Councils:
- San Jose City Council District 10: Robert Braunstein
- Milpitas Mayor: Rob Means
- Milpitas City Council (2 seats): <u>Deepka Lalwani</u>
- Mountain View City Council (4 seats): <u>Chris Clark, Margaret Capriles, John McAllister</u>
- Palo Alto City Council (4 seats): <u>Pat Burt, Marc Berman, Liz Kniss</u>
- Gilroy Mayor: Peter Arellano
- Gilroy City Council (3 seats): Rebeca Armendariz, Cat Tucker
- Santa Clara City Council Seat #6: Lisa Gillmor
- Los Altos City Council: <u>Jan Pepper</u>
- Morgan Hill City Council (3 seats): Larry Carr
- Monte Sereno City Council (2 seats): Julie Wiltshire

County Board of Education:

Santa Clara County Board of Education, TA #5: Anna Song

College Boards:

- Gavilan Community College District: Rochelle Arrellano
- San Jose/Evergreen Community College District TA#7: Mayra Cruz
- San Jose/Evergreen Community College District TA#5: Wendy Ho
- San Jose/Evergreen Community College District TA#3: Craig Mann, Richard Tanaka, <u>Leo Cortez</u> (triple endorsement)
- West Valley Mission Community College District TA#6: Adrienne Grey
- West Valley Mission Community College District TA#2: Ben Hernandez
- Foothill DeAnza Community College District (3 seats): Laura Casas Frier, <u>Betsy Bechtel</u>, <u>Joan Barram</u>

School Boards:

• Alum Rock School District (2 seats): Esau Herrera, Dolores Marquez

- Berryessa School Board (2 seats): David Hernandez
- Cambrian School District (2 seats): <u>Doron Aronson</u>
- Campbell Union High School District (2 seats): Kalen Gallagher
- East Side Union High School District (2 seats); Thelma Boac, Lan Nguyen, <u>Patricia Martinez Roach</u> (multiple endorsement)
- Evergreen Union School District (2 seats): <u>Bonnie Mace</u>
- Franklin McKinley School District (1 seat): Maya Esparza
- Franklin McKinley School District (2 seats): John Linder, George Sanchez
- Los Altos Union School District (2 seats): Amanda Burke Aaronson, Vladimir Ivanovic, Pablo Luther, Stave Taglio
- Palo Alto Unified School District (3 seats): Ken Dauber, Camille Townsend, Heidi Emberling
- San Jose Unified School District (1 seat): <u>Teresa Castellano</u>, <u>Paul Murphy</u> (dual endorsement)
- Santa Clara Unified School District TA#2 (2 seats): Chris Stampolis, Albert Gonzales
- Santa Clara Unified School District TA#3 (1 seat): Michele Ryan, Elise De Young (dual endorsement)

Special Districts:

- Santa Clara Valley Water District Seat #2 (1 seat): <u>David Ginsborg</u>, <u>Barbara Keegan</u> (dual endorsement)
- Santa Clara Valley Water District Seat #5 (1 seat): <u>Patrick Kwok</u>
- El Camino Hospital District (3 seats): <u>Dennis Chiu, Bill James, Julia Miller</u>

• Local Ballot Measures Fall 2012

- Measure A: Santa Clara County 1/8 cent sales tax YES
- Measure B: Santa Clara Valley Water District parcel tax renewal YES
- Measure D: City of San Jose increase minimum wage YES
- Measure E: City of San Jose Cardroom Gaming YES
- Measure G: Morgan Hill Unified School District Bond Measure YES
- Measure H: San Jose Unified School District Bond Measure YES
- Measure I: East Side Union High School District Bond Measure YES
- Measure J: Alum Rock Union School District Bond Measure YES
- Measure K: Berryessa Union School District Parcel Tax Renewal YES
- Measure L: Mt. Pleasant School District Bond Measure YES

7. OLD BUSINESS

9. REPORTS FROM OFFICERS AND OTHERS

a. Executive Board: Andrae Macapinlac

b. Chair: Steve Preminger

c. Vice Chair: Clark Williams

d. Treasurer: Drina Collins

\$302.37 in the bank

e. Secretary: Andrae Macapinlac

f. Issues: Jon Kessler

g. Community Services and Voter Registration: Judy Pipkin.

Gave report on Santa Clara County UDC in Downtown SJ

h. Finance: Hope Cahan

i. Candidate Recruitment and Endorsement: Darcie Green

j. Communications: David Cohen

Check out the new website at www.sccdp.org

k. Campaign Services: Tom Cochran

1. Political Outreach (Clubs): Diane Rolfe

Gave report on North County UDC

m. Regional Director: Emy Thurbern. Regional Director: Shawn Bagley

o. Democratic National Committee: Chris Stampolis

p. DTV Report: Steve Chessin

Democratic Television Producer Emeritus Steve Chessin reported that our guest in August was Kathleen King, Executive Director of the Santa Clara Family Health Foundation, who spoke about child and family health issues.

Our guest in September is TBD.

See the sccdp web site for the schedule, and to view our shows.

We could still use more good Democrats on the crew. No prior video experience is necessary.

q. Pro-Choice Coalition: Claudia Shope

r. CDC Report: Emilie Gatfield

11. ANNOUNCEMENTS

12. EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING

13. ADJOURNMENT

Adjourned at 8pm