SANTA CLARA COUNTY DEMOCRATIC CENTRAL COMMITTEE

6:45 PM, County Building Cafeteria, 70 W. Hedding St., San Jose

Meeting will start at 7:00 pm sharp.

MINUTES FOR Thursday, January 3rd, 2013

1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 7:09pm

2. ROLL CALL

Absent: Gilbert Wong, Ross Gomez (exc), Paul Comacho (exc), Herlinda Aguirre, Nora Campos, Chris Koltermann.

Alternates for: Rich Gordon, Bob Wieckowski, Paul Fong, Ellen Corbett, Jerry Hill, Jim Beall, Bill Monning, Zoe Lofgren, Anna Eshoo, Mike Honda, Rena Model, Eric Hernandez

3. IDENTIFICATION OF VISITORS

AD 25 visitor, Cynthia Ford

Emilie Gatfield- AD 27

4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Moves seconded; approved.

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Minutes are/will be posted at sccdp.org)

a. December 6, 2012 Minutes

Moved; Seconded; Approved

6. NEW BUSINESS

a. Filling of Central Committee Vacancies in AD 29, AD 30.

AD 29- Brady nominates Elisha Brady.

Elected through acclamation.

b. Election of Officers; Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer. Directors to be filled by March meeting.

AD-30 Walt Glines

Elected through acclamation.

OFFICERS

Phyllis Ward nominates Steve Preminger as Chair.

Tony Alexander nominates Cindy Chavez.

Clark Williams speaks and thanks SCCDP for its service.

Tony Alexander nominates Forrest Williams for Treasurer.

Omar Torres nominates Andrae Macapinlac for Secretary.

Motion to close nominations

c. Filling State Central Committee spots. 42 Spots to the State Committee from SCC.

Three Officers, Vice Chair Chavez, Treasurer Williams, and Secretary Macapinlac nominated to be elected. Motions made; seconded; and passed.

Elzbith Farmer-26 Cynthia Ford-13 Clarence Madrilejos-19 Sunshine Borelli- 21 Brenden Sulser-17 Peter Chiu- 32 Jordan Eldridge- 21 John Kessler-28 Deepka Lalwani-13
Bill Ferguson-18
Sousan Manteghi Safakish-16

Cohen: Wait until after ADEM

Chessin: Opposes suggestion; those who win should not run in ADEM.

Motion to close nominations moved; seconded; passed

Speeches given by candidates or their representatives.

- d. Swearing-In of Central Committee members. Followed by group photo.
- e. 2013 Central Committee Membership Dues are due
- 7. OLD BUSINESS

9. REPORTS FROM OFFICERS AND OTHERS

- a. Executive Board: Andrae Macapinlac
- b. Chair: Steve Preminger
- c. Vice Chair: Clark Williams
- d. Treasurer: Drina Collins
- e. Secretary: Andrae Macapinlac
- f. Issues: Jon Kessler
- g. Community Services and Voter Registration: Judy Pipkin.
- h. Finance: Hope Cahan
- i. Candidate Recruitment and Endorsement: Darcie Green
- j. Communications: David Cohen
- k. Campaign Services: Tom Cochran
- 1. Political Outreach (Clubs): Diane Rolfe
- m. Regional Director: Emy Thurber
- n. Regional Director: Shawn Bagley

Not running for re-election.

Proud of Region 9.

- o. Democratic National Committee: Chris Stampolis
- p. DTV Report: Steve Chessin
- q. Pro-Choice Coalition: Claudia Shope
- r. CDC Report: Emilie Gatfield

11. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Hope Cahan-Summer Picnic

Hoffman-Freedom Train on Monday Jan 21st.

Diane- Rechartering next Month

Emy gave report on Century Club.

12. EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING

13. ADJOURNMENT

Adjourned 8:41 in Memory of Jim Williams