# SANTA CLARA COUNTY DEMOCRATIC CENTRAL COMMITTEE

6:45 PM, County Building Cafeteria, 70 W. Hedding St., San Jose **Meeting will start at 7:00 pm sharp.** 

# MINUTES FOR Thursday, September 4<sup>th</sup>, 2014

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 7:14pm

#### 2. ROLL CALL

Absent: Jim Brady, Jerry Hill, Nora Campos, Zoe Lofgren, Nasreen Rahim, Elizabeth Birk, Robert Braunstein, Karina Domingues, Sally Armendariz.

Alternates: Gilbert Wong, Chris Stampolis, Shaian Mohammadi, Rich Waterman, Paul Camacho, Rich Gordon, Bob Wieckowski, Paul Fong, Luis Alejo, Ellen Corbett, Bill Monning, Jim Beall, Mike Honda, Anna Eshoo, Sam Farr, David Wessell.

#### 3. IDENTIFICATION OF VISITORS

#### 4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Seconded; approved

# 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Minutes are/will be posted at sccdp.org)

a. Thursday, August 7th, 2014

Seconded; Approved

### 6. NEW BUSINESS

a. Consideration of candidate and ballot measure endorsements for November 4<sup>th</sup>, 2014

Before discussion of the races endorsed, a number of candidates were in the room and made 1-2 minute introductions.

#### **November 2014 City Councils and Special Districts**

- Campbell City Council: Rich Waterman
- Cupertino City Council: Darcy Paul
- Gilroy City Council: Peter Leroe-Munoz
- Los Gatos City Council: Rob Rennie, Marico Sayoc
- Milpitas City Council: Deepka Lalwani, Bill Ferguson, Marsha Grilli, Rob Means
- Morgan Hill City Council: Rich Constantine, Gordon Siebert
- Mountain View City Council: Margaret Capriles, Ellen Kamei, Mercedes Salem\*
- Palo Alto City Council: Karen Holman, Greg Scharff, Nancy Shephard, Cory Wolbach\*
- Santa Clara Mayor: Jamie Mathews
- Santa Clara City Council Seat #2: Mohammed Nadeem
- Santa Clara City Council Seat #5: Dominic Caserta
- Saratoga City Council: Rishi Kumar, Yan Zhao
- El Camino Health District Director: Margaret Abe Koga, David Reeder\*
- Santa Clara Valley Water District 1: Dennis Kennedy
- Santa Clara Valley Water District 7: Gary Kremen\*

### **Fall 2014 School Board Elections**

- Alum Rock School District: Andres Quintero, Maribel Moreno, Esau Herrera
- Berryessa Union School District: David Cohen, Hugo Jimenez, Thelma Boac
- Cambrian School District: Jarod Middleton
- Campbell Union High School District: Richard Nguyen, Wendy Dillingham-Plew
- Cupertino Union School District: Kristen Pan Lyn, Soma McCandless
- East Side Union High School District: Frank Biehl, J. Manuel Herrera, Anthony Phan\*
- Franklin-McKinley School District: Tina Castillo, Rudy Rodriguez, Omar Torres\*
- Gilroy Unified School District: Dom Payne, Linda Piceno
- Los Altos Union School District: Tamara Logan
- Morgan Hill Unified School District: David Gerard, Donna Foster Ruebusch
- Mountain View-Los Altos High School District: Dana Bunnett
- Mountain View Whisman School District: Ellen Wheeler

- Palo Alto Unified School District: Catherine Crystal Foster, Gina Dalma, Ken Daubner, Terry Godfrey\*
- Santa Clara Unified School District Seat #2: Jodi Muirhead, Noelani Sallings\*
- San Jose Unified School District #2: Susan Ellenberg
- Santa Clara County Board of Education District 2: Michael Chang
- Santa Clara County Board of Education District 6: Darcie Green
- Santa Clara County Board of Education District 7: Claudia Rossi
- San Jose Evergreen Community College District #2: Balbir Dhillon
- San Jose Evergreen Community College District #4; Maria Fuentes, Huong Nguyen
- San Jose Evergreen Community College District #6: Jeffrey Lease
- West Valley Mission Community College District #3: Anne Kepner
- West Valley Mission Community College District #5: Janet Chang

## Fall 2014 Ballot Measures

- Measure H: Santa Clara Unified School District Bond Measure
- Measure I: East Side Union High School District Technology Bonds
- Measure J: Fremont Union High School District Parcel Tax renewal
- Measure K: Fremont Union High School District Bond Measure
- Measure L: Berryessa Union School District Bond Measure
- Measure M: Evergreen School District Bond Measure
- Measure N: Los Altos School District Bond Measure
- Measure O: Alum Rock Union School District Parcel Tax renewal
- Measure P: Oak Grove School District Bond Measure
- Measure Q: Santa Clara County Open Space Authority Parcel Tax

Discussion on Measure E; motion to endorse; seconded; did not pass.

\*Indicates race originally pulled from consent calendar

Pulled Races, Originally Recommended by the Endorsement Committee

### Mountain View

- -Pat Showlater
- -Mercedes Salem
- -Ellen Kamei
- -Lenny Siegel
- Ken Rosenberg
- -Jim Neal
- Margaret Capariles
- Lisa Matichak

#### Palo Alto

- Karen Holman
- Nancy Shepherd
- -Greg Scharff
- -Tom Dubois
- -Cory Walbach

### Santa Clara Valley Water District 7

-Gary Kremen

### **ESUHSD**

- -Frank Biehl
- -J. Manuel Herrera

- Anthony Phan
- Patricia Martinez Roach

# 7. OLD BUSINESS

a. Consideration of support for Gender Equity and new director position resolution. Motion made; seconded; passed unanimously.

### 8. REPORTS FROM OFFICERS AND OTHERS

- a. Executive Board: Andrae Macapinlac
- b. Chair: Steve Preminger
- c. Vice Chair: Bill James
- d. Treasurer: Forrest Williams e. Secretary: Andrae Macapinlac
- f. Issues: Andres Quintero
- g. Community Services and Voter Registration: Judy Pipkin
- h. Finance: Emy Thurber
- i. Candidate Recruitment and Endorsement: Darcie Green
- j. Communications: David Cohen
- k. Campaign Services: Ann Grabowski
- l. Political Outreach (Clubs): Diane Rolfe
- m. Regional Director:
  - 1) Royce Kelley, Region 5
  - 2) Hene Kelley, Region 6
  - 3) Kelly Martinez, Region 7
- o. Democratic National Committee: Chris Stampolis
- p. DTV Report: Steve Chessin
- q. Pro-Choice Coalition: Claudia Shope
- r. CDC Report: Emilie Gatfield
- 9. ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 10. EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING
- 11. ADJOURNMENT

Meeting adjourned at 9:45pm