### SANTA CLARA COUNTY DEMOCRATIC CENTRAL COMMITTEE

6:45 PM, County Building Cafeteria, 70 W. Hedding St., San Jose Meeting will start at 7:00 pm sharp. MINUTES FOR Thursday, July 9<sup>th</sup>, 2015

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

Meeting called to order at 7:05pm.

2. ROLL CALL

Absent: Andres Quintero, Javier Gonzalez, Brian O'Neil, Forrest Williams(exc), Bruce Morasca, Kansen Chu, Nora Campos, Jerry Hill, Zoe Lofgren, Nasreem Rahim, Bill Roth, Rishi Kumar, Ellen Kamei, Aimee Escobar.

Alternates for: Marcene van Dierndonck, Anna Song, Ken Yeager, Rich Watterman, Paul Comacho, Rich Gordon, Mark Stone, Luis Alejo, Bob Wieckowski, Jim Beall, Bill Monning, Mike Honda, Sam Farr, Anna Eshoo, Swannee Edwards, Sousan Manteghi Safakish.

# 3. IDENTIFICATION OF VISITORS

- 4. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- 5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (Minutes are/will be posted at sccdp.org)
  - a. Thursday, June 4th, 2015

# 6. NEW BUSINESS

- a. Discussion: Should the SCCDP join the San Jose-Silicon Valley Chamber of Commerce?
  - Craig Dunkerley led discussion, argued that the Party would be "at the table" in regards to policy decisions.
- Motion made to support the SCCDP joining the SJSV Chamber of Commerce made; seconded; additional discussion.
- Motion failed passage.
  - b. Support for HR 1111- Department of Peacebuilding Act of 2015.
    - Bill authored by Congresswoman Barbara Lee
    - -Motion to support made; seconded; approved.
  - c. Election of Central Committee members by County Supervisorial districts. Discussion
    - Herb initiated discussion, arguing that election with Supervisorial districts would be fairer than he current Assembly district election system. Would like to see legislation from our local delegation.

      -South County Democratic club argued switching would hurt South Santa Clara County's representation on the Central Committee.
  - d. CANCELLED: Election of committee member into  $27^{\text{th}}$  AD.

# 7. OLD BUSINESS

### 8. REPORTS FROM OFFICERS AND OTHERS

- a. Executive Board: Andrae Macapinlac
- b. Chair: Steve Preminger
- c. Vice Chair: Bill James
- d. Treasurer: Forrest Williams
- e. Secretary: Andrae Macapinlac
- f. Issues: Dennis Raj
- g. Community Services and Voter Registration: Judy Pipkin
- h. Finance: Emy Thurber
- i. Candidate Recruitment and Endorsement: Ann Grabowski
- j. Communications: David Cohen
- k. Gender Equity and the Status of Women: Darcie Green
- I. Campaign Services: Angelica Ramos
- m. Political Outreach (Clubs): Alex Wara
- n. Sgt at Arms: Betty Duong
- o. Regional Director:
  - 1) Royce Kelley, Region 5
  - 2) Hene Kelley, Region 6
  - 3) Omar Torres, Region 7
- p. Democratic National Committee: Chris Stampolis
- q. DTV Report: Steve Chessin
- r. Pro-Choice Coalition: Claudia Shope
- s. CDC Report: Emilie Gatfield
- 9. ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 10. EXECUTIVE BOARD MEETING
- 11. ADJOURNMENT